All students next year will get free school lunches in 32 Cumberland County Schools

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

CUMBERLAND COUNTY --  Next year, 32 public schools in Cumberland County will be providing free lunches for all students.


This is going to be done under a provisionof the federal child nutrition program. There is no sign up required, because of community eligibility, schools can provide two free meals a day.

Schools qualify if more than 40 percent of students are low-income.

The first 32 schools include 25 elementary schools: T.C. Berrien, Walker-Spivey, Ferguson-Easley, Westarea, Manchester, Margaret Willis, Lillian Black, Brentwood, William H. Owen, Cumberland Road, Mary McArthur, Cliffdale, Lucile Souders, Elizabeth M. Cashwell, William T. Brown, J.W. Coon, Sunnyside, Benjamin J. Martin, Sherwood Park, Warrenwood, Montclair, Ponderosa, J.W. Seabrook, Cumberland Mills and Morganton Road.

The seven middle schools are Luther "Nick" Jeralds, Ireland Drive, Spring Lake, Douglas Byrd, Lewis Chapel, Pauline Jones and Westover.

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars

Post comment as a guest



Rate this article :
  • No comments found